Hanley Ramirez named finalist for 2013 Hank Aaron Award

Richard Mackson-USA TODAY Sports

Ramirez hit .345/.402/.638 with 20 home runs and 25 doubles in 86 games for the Dodgers this season. Online voting for the award will run through Thursday.

LOS ANGELES -- Hanley Ramirez has been on fire during the National League Division Series, but he was great in the regular season too. For his efforts, Ramirez was named the Dodgers' finalist for the 2013 Hank Aaron Award, given annually to the top offensive performers in each league.

It is quite remarkable that Ramirez garnered this honor since he only played 86 games. But during those 86 games he was one of the very best hitters in baseball, hitting .345/.402/.638 with 20 home runs and 25 doubles.

"I just try to keep everything the same at the plate and on the field," Ramirez said after Sunday night's 13-6 win in Game 3. "I don't try to do too much and just let things happen. That's been the key all year."

During the NLDS Ramirez is 7-for-13 (.538) with four doubles, a triple and a home run.

"I've been talking about him all year long just how good I feel he is. I'm glad, again, when we were going down the stretch and he was wanting to play some of those games and we were trying to hols him off," manager Don Mattingly said. "I just kept telling him, I want the whole world to see you. I want the world to see how good you are. And it's been good so far."

Ramirez fought at first, arguing to play every day down the stretch. But with the division all but locked up he eventually sided with his manager.

"I want to play every day. But at the same time I knew that he was doing the best for me for me to be ready to go for the playoffs. He played this game and he knows what he's doing," Ramirez said. "That's great when you have a manager like that. That makes you keep doing your best every day, every inning, every out, every pitch."

In 153 games as a Dodger including these playoffs, nearly the equivalent of a full season, Ramirez is hitting .317/.371/.569 with 40 doubles, 31 home runs, 107 RBI, 96 runs scored and 17 stolen bases.

Fans can vote for their favorite among the 30 finalists on MLB.com through Thursday. The fan vote will count as one vote on a panel of Hall of Famers to choose the winners in each league. The voting panel includes Aaron, Roberto Alomar, Johnny Bench, Tony Gwynn, Paul Molitor, Eddie Murray and Robin Yount.

Matt Kemp won the National League Hank Aaron Award in 2011.

The winners will be announced during the 2013 World Series.

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join True Blue LA

You must be a member of True Blue LA to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at True Blue LA. You should read them.

Join True Blue LA

You must be a member of True Blue LA to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at True Blue LA. You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.