Clayton Kershaw wins SB Nation NL Pitcher of the Year


The Dodgers ace captured 35 of 36 first-place votes to easily win the award. Teammates Yasiel Puig and Hyun-jin Ryu finished second and third, respectively, for NL Best Rookie.

SB Nation announced its annual MLB awards on Thursday, and Clayton Kershaw handily won the National League Pitcher of the Year.

Kershaw captured 35 of 36 first-place votes, with only Soco at AZ Snake Pit voting Kershaw second (he had Matt Harvey of the Mets first). Adam Wainwright of the Cardinals finished second overall, with Harvey in third place. Cliff Lee of the Phillies was fourth, narrowly beating out fifth-place finisher Jose Fernandez of the Marlins.

The awards were voted on by SB Nation writers, up to two for each team site in each league, plus votes from general sites too. Craig Minami and I voted on the three NL awards: Best Player, Best Pitcher and Best Rookie.

Here are the award winners, along with the ballots from Craig and I:

NL Best Player: Andrew McCutchen, Pirates

McCutchen captured 34 of 36 first-place votes, easily beating out Paul Goldschmidt of the Diamondbacks. Kershaw finished fifth, behind Matt Carpenter and Joey Votto.

Eric's ballot: McCutchen, Goldschmidt, Yadier Molina, Carpenter, Kershaw, Votto, Carlos Gomez, Andrelton Simmons, Hanley Ramirez, Shin-Soo Choo

Craig's ballot: McCutchen, Votto, Goldschmidt, Molina, Kershaw, Freddie Freeman, Carpenter, Ramirez, Fernandez, Yasiel Puig

Points were awarded on a 14-9-8-7-6-5-4-3-2-1 basis.

NL Best Pitcher: Kershaw

Eric: Kershaw, Wainwright, Lee, Harvey, Fenandez

Craig: Kershaw, Fernandez, Wainwright, Harvey, Lee

Points were awarded on a 7-4-3-2-1 basis.

NL Best Rookie: Fernandez

Fenandez received 29 of 36 first-place votes, easily outpacing Yasiel Puig. The Dodgers outfielder got the other first-place votes, 28 second-place votes, and one third-place vote. Teammate Hyun-jin Ryu finished third with 13 third-place votes. The only other rookie to receive a second-place vote was Julio Teheran, who finished fifth behind Shelby Miller.

Eric: Fernandez, Puig, Ryu

Craig: Fernandez, Puig, Ryu

Points were awarded on a 5-3-1 basis.

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join True Blue LA

You must be a member of True Blue LA to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at True Blue LA. You should read them.

Join True Blue LA

You must be a member of True Blue LA to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at True Blue LA. You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.