Missed catcher's interference call provides instant replay lesson

The missed call ultimately didn't hurt Carl Crawford and the Dodgers on Tuesday. - Denis Poroy

SAN DIEGO -- The Dodgers were on the short end of a non-call in the top of the seventh inning on Tuesday night, though it didn't end up ultimately costing them in their 3-2 win over the Padres at Petco Park.

After pinch-hitter Chone Figgins walked to leadoff the seventh — he has walked in each of his first two plate appearances of 2014 — Carl Crawford came to the plate with the Dodgers leading by a run.

On a 2-2 pitch from relief pitcher Tim Stauffer, Crawford fouled a ball off but his bat hit catcher Yasmani Grandal's glove.


Crawford's swing, just before impact with Grandal's glove.

Catcher's interference would have awarded Crawford first base, but home plate umpire Manny Gonzalez didn't see it that way. Both manager Don Mattingly and eventually Crawford argued, but to no avail.

Later in the at-bat Crawford flew out to left field. The Dodgers were unable to add an insurance run in the inning.

"I didn't think it was reviewable, but more than anything it's a sound play really. Manny heard it, but he said he didn't know if Crawford's bat hit the ground or not," Mattingly explained. "If he heard the sound, somebody else had to have seen his bat not hit the ground."

Under the new instant replay rules, catcher's interference isn't a reviewable play. Here are the plays that are reviewable:

"Fieldin [Culbreth, crew chief] let me know right away that it wasn't a reviewable play, and nobody saw anything so they couldn't do anything about it," Mattingly said after the game.

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join True Blue LA

You must be a member of True Blue LA to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at True Blue LA. You should read them.

Join True Blue LA

You must be a member of True Blue LA to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at True Blue LA. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.

tracking_pixel_9351_tracker