clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Kemp, Hudson Win Gold Gloves

Matt Kemp and Orlando Hudson of the Dodgers are among the National League Gold Glove winners, to be announced later today.  This is the first award for Kemp, and the fourth for Hudson, who also won from 2005 to 2007 with both the Blue Jays and Diamondbacks.  Here are the full list of winners:

Pos Player Team GG
P Adam Wainwright StL 1st
C Yadier Molina StL 2nd
1B Adrian Gonzalez
SD 2nd
2B Orlando Hudson
LA 4th
3B Ryan Zimmerman
Was 1st
SS Jimmy Rollins
Phi 3rd
OF Matt Kemp
LA 1st
OF Shane Victorino
Phi 2nd
OF Michael Bourn
Hou 1st

This is the first time the Dodgers have had two Gold Glove winners in the same season since 2004, when Cesar Izturis and Steve Finley (who was acquired at the trade deadline that season) took home the hardware.

Kemp, who led all major league center fielders with 14 assists and four double plays (tied with Nate McLouth), is the first second full-time Dodger center fielder to take home a Gold Glove, joining Willie Davis (1971-1973).  Finley played center field for the Dodgers in 2004, but only for 55 games.  Kemp is also just the fifth sixth Dodger outfielder to win the award, joining Wally Moon (1960), Davis, Dusty Baker (1981), Raul Mondesi (1995, 1997), and Finley.

The only other Dodger second basemen to win a Gold Glove award were Charlie Neal in 1959, and Davey Lopes in 1978.

Thanks to Kensai at Memories of Kevin Malone for the scoop.