clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

SBNation HOF Vote

This is how the SB Nation baseball bloggers recently voted on our HOF ballots. On Jan 6th MLB will announce who gets enshrined in 2010. With all of it's foibles I still love the concept and the debate that goes into the HOF vote.

Phil : Bert Blyleven,  Alan Trammell,  Barry Larkin,  Tim Raines,  Andre Dawson

Eric : Bert Blyleven,  Roberto Alomar,  Barry Larkin,  Edgar Martinez,  Mark McGwire,  Fred McGriff,  Tim Raines

I'm was pleased to see that both of us voted for Raines who is actually one fo the top 10 left fielders to ever play the game but disappointed to see how many SB Nation baseball writers left him off the ballot. The complete voting results can be found here . Isn't Google Docs a great thing?  

I was really on the line with Roberto Alomar but his sudden decline at an early age left him off my ballot. He certainly had a HOF arc but drop offs like that leave a bad taste in my mouth.  I loved Edgar Martinez as a hitter but having watched his whole career I'm very certain that if he had to play the field he'd have been hurt much to often to put up those kind of numbers. He became a DH not because he couldn't field but because he couldn't stay healthy when he played the field.  Fred McGriff was a good to great first baseman but just not HOF material for me. I kind of regret voting for Andre Dawson and not sure why I did since I never have when I've done other votes.

Eric is busy today but will chime in later on his HOF vote.

Click here to do your HOF Vote - it is not linked to your user name so you need to fill that in.  At first the ballot looks blank but once you click on the downarrow for each vote you will get a dropdown displaying each eligible player. Duplicate votes for the same player will be discarded.  Thanks to SBNation for putting this together for each teams blog.

Player % Vote Total Votes
Bert Blyleven 92.3% 48
Roberto Alomar 73.1% 38
Barry Larkin 63.5% 33
Tim Raines 53.8% 28
Mark McGwire 51.9% 27
Edgar Martinez 48.1% 25
Alan Trammell 40.4% 21
Andre Dawson 32.7% 17
Lee Smith 26.9% 14
Fred McGriff 25.0% 13
Dale Murphy 17.3% 9
Jack Morris 13.5% 7
Don Mattingly 11.5% 6
Harold Baines 7.7% 4
Dave Parker 3.8% 2
Kevin Appier 3.8% 2
Ellis Burks 1.9% 1
Ray Lankford 1.9% 1
Shane Reynolds 1.9% 1
Not receiving votes: Andres Galarraga, Pat Hentgen, Mike Jackson, Eric Karros, David Segui, Robin Ventura, Todd Zeile