clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Matt Kemp To Win Baseball America Major League Player Of The Year Award

Getty Images

Matt Kemp will be named the Major League Player of the Year by Baseball America, making him the first Dodgers player to be so honored. The award hasn't yet been announced, but Kemp has won according to a tweet from Sports Management Partners, Kemp's agency headed by Dave Stewart.

Hopefully that won't be the only award Kemp wins this offseason. The National League MVP award won't be announced until November 22, so we have some time to prepare to be disappointed when Ryan Braun wins the award. Kemp is also a lock for one of the three National League outfielder Silver Slugger awards, which he also captured in 2009.

Baseball America has awarded a Major League Player of the Year award annually since 1998.

Baseball America MLB Player of the Year
Year Player Team
2011 Matt Kemp LA
2010 Roy Halladay Phi
2009 Joe Mauer Min
2008 CC Sabathia Cle/Mil
2007 Alex Rodriguez NYY
2006 Johan Santana Min
2005 Albert Pujols StL
2004 Barry Bonds SF
2003 Barry Bonds SF
2002 Alex Rodriguez Tex
2001 Barry Bonds SF
2000 Alex Rodriguez Sea
1999 Pedro Martinez Bos
1998 Mark McGwire StL