clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Matt Kemp & Clayton Kershaw Named To Sporting News NL All-Star Team

Clayton Kershaw and Matt Kemp both had plenty of reasons to celebrate in 2011.
Clayton Kershaw and Matt Kemp both had plenty of reasons to celebrate in 2011.

The honors continue to roll in for Dodgers Matt Kemp and Clayton Kershaw, who on Thursday were named to the 2011 Sporting News National League All-Star team. Voting for the All-Star teams was done by league executives, and there were 29 National League front office members who voted on the NL team. Kemp was the only unanimous selection in the National League. Justin Verlander was the only unanimous selection for the American League.

Sporting News 2011 All-Star Teams
National League American League
C Brian McCann C Alex Avila
1B Prince Fielder 1B Adrian Gonzalez
2B Brandon Phillips 2B Robinson Cano
3B Aramis Ramirez 3B Adrian Beltre
SS Troy Tulowitzki SS Asdrubal Cabrera
OF Matt Kemp OF Jose Bautista
OF Ryan Braun OF Jacoby Ellsbury
OF Justin Upton OF Curtis Granderson
DH David Ortiz
SP Clayton Kershaw SP Justin Verlander
RP Craig Kimbrel RP Mariano Rivera

In addition to being named a Sporting News All-Star, Kemp has won the Baseball America Major League Player of the Year and the NL Hank Aaron Award. The Sporting News Player of the Year, voted on by major league players, will be announced tomorrow, and don't be surprised if Kemp takes home another honor.

Kemp was also a Sporting News NL All-Star in 2009.

Kershaw also won the Warren Spahn Award, an honor given to the top left-handed pitcher in MLB. The Baseball Writers' Association of America will announce the National League Cy Young winner on Thursday, November 17, and the NL Most Valuable Player on Tuesday, November 22.