clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Kershaw, Eovaldi Highlight Dodgers Win Over White Sox

New, comments

The unstoppable juggernaut that is the Dodgers at Camelback Ranch continued their run as inhospitable hosts today, beating the White Sox, 6-5, to even their Cactus League record at 2-2.

Actually, the game was a sloppily played contest featuring six combined errors, three by the Dodgers alone in the third inning. Those errors led to an unearned run, the lone tally against Clayton Kershaw in his spring debut. Kershaw was slated to throw 45-50 pitches, and he got through three innings, allowing two hits while striking out three. He walked his first batter, Juan Pierre, and opened the game with six consecutive pitches outside the strike zone, but Kershaw soon settled down and didn't issue another free pass.

The Dodgers got scoreless innings out of expected bullpen stalwarts Jonathan Broxton and Matt Guerrier, each making their spring debuts. In addition the Dodgers got scoreless innings from prospects Michael Antonini, acquired from the Mets for Chin-Lung Hu in December, and Nate Eovaldi, the True Blue LA-voted #19 Dodger prospect who struck out two batters in the ninth inning to close out the win.

With Don Mattingly's playing time schedule featuring several off days for regulars in the early part of spring, today happened to be a day in which all eight regular position players sat today. Dioner Navarro caught today for the Dodgers and went hitless in two at-bats. Expect most of the regulars in the lineup tomorrow, including Marcus Thames in left field in place of Jay Gibbons, who is still recovering from the flu.

The Dodgers have used 25 players -- 18 position players and seven pitchers -- in all four spring training games so far.

The Dodgers play in Goodyear Tuesday against the Indians; Chad Billingsley will start, and be followed on the mound by Oscar Villarreal, Roman Colon, Jon Huber, Lance Cormier, and Wilkin De La Rosa. Cleveland hurlers scheduled to pitch tomorrow are Carlos Carrasco, Kelvin De La Cruz, David Huff, Doug Mathis, Zach McAllister, and Chris Perez.

Today's Box Score