clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Matt Kemp Elected To Start All-Star Game, Clayton Kershaw Makes It Too

See you in Phoenix.
See you in Phoenix.

The 2011 All-Star rosters were announced Sunday morning, and as expected Matt Kemp and Clayton Kershaw both made the National League squad. Kemp was elected to start in the outfield. Here are the National League starters:

  • Brian McCann C
  • Prince Fielder 1B
  • Rickie Weeks 2B
  • Placido Polanco 3B
  • Jose Reyes SS
  • Ryan Braun OF
  • Matt Kemp OF
  • Lance Berkman OF

Kemp is the seventh Dodger outfielder elected to start the All-Star Game since fan balloting returned in 1970.

Dodger Outfielders Elected To Start All-Star Game
Player Year
Jimmy Wynn 1974
Jimmy Wynn 1975
Rick Monday 1978
Reggie Smith 1980
Darryl Strawberry* 1991
Andre Ethier 2010
Matt Kemp 2011
*Did not play

Kershaw becomes just the ninth Dodgers starting pitcher in the last 20 years to be named an All-Star. The last was Chad Billingsley in 2009,

Dodger All-Star Starting Pitchers 1992-2011
Pitcher Year
Hideo Nomo* 1995
Kevin Brown 2000
Chan Ho Park 2001
Odalis Perez 2002
Kevin Brown 2003
Brad Penny* 2006
Brad Penny 2007
Chad Billingsley 2009
Clayton Kershaw 2011
*Started the game

Ethier is one of five candidates for the Final Vote, along with Shane Victorino, Michael Morse, Todd Helton, and Ian Kennedy (and not Andrew McCutchen).