clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Clayton Kershaw Named 2011 Sportsman Of The Year By LA Sports Council

Add another honor to Clayton Kershaw's trophy case. The ace of the Dodgers has been named the 2011 Sportsman of the Year by the Los Angeles Sports Council. He will be presented with this award at the seventh annual LA Sports Awards on March 15 at Club Nokia at LA Live.

The Sportsman of the Year Award is given to "the local male athlete whose performance and character best exemplified the ideals of sportsmanship during the calendar year." Kershaw is the first Dodger to win the award.

LA Sports Awards Sportsmen Of The Year
Year Player Team
2011 Clayton Kershaw Dodgers
2010 Derek Fisher Lakers
2009 Pau Gasol Lakers
2008 Kobe Bryant Lakers
2007 David Beckham Galaxy
2006 Elton Brand Clippers
2005 Matt Leinart USC

For his efforts on and off the field in 2011, Kershaw was named an All-Star for the first time, he won the National League Cy Young Award, was the Dodgers' nominee for the Roberto Clemente Award, won a Gold Glove, was named to the Sporting News National League All-Star team, won the Warren Spahn Award given annually to the top left-handed pitcher in baseball, and was voted by his peers as the NL Outstanding Pitcher by the MLB Players Association.

The LA Sports Awards will air on Prime Ticket, with airing dates to be determined.