clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Dodgers shutout of Gold Glove Awards

Pitcher Clayton Kershaw, right fielder Andre Ethier, and first baseman Adrian Gonzalez all were finalists for 2012 Gold Glove Awards, but came up short for the honor.

No repeats for the Dodgers' 2011 Gold Glove Award winners
No repeats for the Dodgers' 2011 Gold Glove Award winners
Gary A. Vasquez-US PRESSWIRE

Clayton Kershaw was denied his second consecutive Gold Glove Award on Tuesday, as he lost to Mark Buehrle of the Marlins. Buehrle had won a Gold Glove in each of the last three years in the American League while with the White Sox as well.

Andre Ethier lost out to Jason Heyward of the Braves for the National League right field Gold Glove. Jay Bruce of the Reds was the other finalist. Adrian Gonzalez was a finalist at first base in the American League, but lost out to Mark Teixeira of the Yankees. Eric Hosmer of the Royals was the other finalist.

The award, which has been given out since 1957, is voted on by managers and up to six coaches from each league, with voters instructed to pick only players from their own league and not from their own team.

Kershaw is one of five Dodgers pitchers to win a Gold Glove Award, joining Andy Messersmith (1974-1975), Fernando Valenzuela (1986), Orel Hershiser (1988), and Greg Maddux (2006, 2008). Other than Maddux, who was acquired midseason two separate times, every Dodger Gold Glove winner also made the All-Star team the same year.

On Aug. 20 against the Giants, Kershaw robbed Gregor Blanco of the Giants with a diving catch.

Ethier won the Gold Glove last year. The other Dodgers outfielders to win Gold Glove honors are Wally Moon (1960), Willie Davis (1971-1973), Dusty Baker (1981), Raul Mondesi (1995, 1997), Steve Finley (2004), and Matt Kemp (2009, 2011).

Perhaps Ethier's best day on defense came on June 17 against the White Sox, when he made three memorable grabs:

Adrian Gonzalez played 123 of his 159 games in the American League with the Red Sox. He won awards in 2008 and 2009 when with the Padres, and in 2011 with Boston. Here is Gonzalez, making a diving stop to rob old fried Xavier Paul of a hit on Sept. 23 in Cincinnati.

The Dodgers have won 41 Gold Glove Awards in the 56 years of the award.