clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NL Cy Young Award: Clayton Kershaw named finalist

The left-hander led the major leagues in ERA for the second straight season, and led the National League in WHIP, and two different versions of Wins Above Replacement.

Jayne Kamin-Oncea-US PRESSWIRE

The Baseball Writers Association of America on Wednesday announced the finalists for their major awards. Clayton Kershaw is one of three finalists for the National League Cy Young Award, along with R.A. Dickey of the New York Mets and Gio Gonzalez of the Washington Nationals.

This is the first year the BBWAA announced finalists for their awards ahead of time.

The top three in each league were announced for Rookie of the Year, Manager of the Year, and Cy Young Award, and the top five were announced for Most Valuable Player. The Cy Young Awards for both the National League and American League will be announced on Wednesday, Nov. 14, in a televised program beginning at 3 p.m. PT on MLB Network.

Kershaw, who captured the award last season with 27 of 32 first place votes, is the first Dodger to finish in the top three of Cy Young Award voting in consecutive seasons since Fernando Valenzuela in 1981-1982.

Kershaw was 14-9 with a 2.53 ERA this season, the second straight year he led the major leagues in ERA. He led the National League in both fWAR (6.2) and rWAR (5.5), and also led the NL in WHIP (1.023) for the second consecutive season. Kershaw's 229 strikeouts were second in the league, one behind NL leader Dickey.

Dodgers have finished in the top three in Cy Young Award voting 23 times.

Dodgers in Cy Young top 3
Year Pitcher Finish First Place Votes
2012 Clayton Kershaw ??? ???
2011 Clayton Kershaw 1st 27
2007 Brad Penny 3rd 0
2003 Eric Gagne 1st 28
1990 Ramon Martinez 2nd 1
1988 Orel Hershiser 1st 24
1986 Fernando Valenzuela 2nd 9
1985 Orel Hershiser 3rd 0
1982 Fernando Valenzuela t-3rd 1
1981 Fernando Valenzuela 1st 8
1980 Jerry Reuss 2nd 1
1978 Burt Hooton 2nd 0
1977 Tommy John 2nd 3
1976 Don Sutton 3rd 1
1974 Mike Marshall 1st 17
1974 Andy Messersmith 2nd 5
1971 Al Downing 3rd 1
1966 Sandy Koufax 1st 20
1965 Sandy Koufax 1st 20
1964 Sandy Koufax 3rd 1
1963 Sandy Koufax 1st 20
1962 Don Drysdale 1st 14
1956 Don Newcombe 1st 10