clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Dodgers At Indians: Clayton Kershaw Makes Third Cactus League Start

Clayton Kershaw will make his second start at Goodyear Ballpark in six days today.
Clayton Kershaw will make his second start at Goodyear Ballpark in six days today.

Clayton Kershaw makes his third start of the Cactus League on Monday afternoon, and it comes at the same place as his second start. The Dodgers are in Goodyear today to battle the Cleveland Indians, five days after Kershaw struck out six in his four scoreless innings.

Kershaw is expected to throw between 85-90 pitches on Monday. Also scheduled to pitch for the Dodgers are Scott Elbert, Kenley Jansen, Javy Guerra, and Scott Rice. Angel Guzman and Wil Ledezma will also make the trip to Goodyear Ballpark.

Five minor leaguers are in uniform today for the Dodgers: shortstop Jake Lemmerman (wearing No. 89), infielder Elian Herrera (88), left-handed pitcher Andrew Sisco (99), and outfielders Chris Pettit (87) and Nick Akins (91).

Jeanmar Gomez will start on the mound for Cleveland, and is scheduled to be followed by Dan Wheeler, Vinnie Pestano, Tony Sipp, and Robinson Tejada.


Tracy Ringolsby of Fox Sports caught up with relief pitcher Jamey Wright, vying for the lone open spot in the Dodgers bullpen. This is the seventh consecutive season Wright has been a non-roster invitee in spring training. "I want to be the first 20-year big leaguer to sign 10 minor league contracts in a row," Wright joked.

Ken Rosenthal of Fox Sports thinks good things are in store for the Dodgers under Don Mattingly.

J.P. Hoornstra of the LA Daily News profiled the Dodgers' Sue Falsone, the first female head athletic trainer in MLB history.

Old friend Jamie Hoffmann elected free agency rather than accept a minor league assignment from the Colorado Rockies. Troy Renck of the Denver Post has more details, as well as fellow old friend Casey Blake returning to the lineup after eight days out.

Starting Lineups

Dodgers Indians
SS Hairston CF Brantley
1B Loney SS Donald
CF Kemp RF Choo
RF Ethier C Santana
LF Rivera
3B Lopez
3B Kennedy 1B Kotchman
2B Sellers DH Duncan
C Treanor 2B Kipnis
P Kershaw LF Canzler

Game Time: 1:05 p.m

TV: MLB Network (Indians broadcast)

Radio: None, though the broadcast can be heard through MLB Gameday Audio

MLB Gameday