clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Dodgers shutout of 2013 Gold Glove Awards

The Dodgers had an MLB-high five finalists for this year's Gold Glove Awards, but took home no awards for the second straight season.

Jayne Kamin-Oncea-USA TODAY Spor

Rawlings and Major League Baseball announced the winners of the 2013 Gold Glove Awards on Tuesday, and though the Dodgers had five finalists for baseball's top official fielding honor they were shutout from the hardware.

Zack Greinke lost out to Adam Wainwright of the Cardinals, who also beat out Patrick Corbin of the Diamondbacks.

Juan Uribe lost to Nolan Arenado of the Rockies at third base in the National League. David Wright of the Mets was the other finalist at the position.

A.J. Ellis lost out to Yadier Molina of the Cardinals, who won his sixth straight Gold Glove at catcher, also beating out old friend Russell Martin, now of the Pirates.

Adrian Gonzalez, who has three Gold Gloves in his career, lost out to Paul Goldschmidt of the Diamondbacks at first base. Anthony Rizzo of the Cubs was the other finalist.

Mark Ellis lost out at second base in the National League to Brandon Phillips of the Reds. Darwin Barney of the Cubs was the other finalist.

The Gold Gloves are voted on by league managers and coaching staffs, with the caveat that coaches can't vote for players on their own team. In 2013, a sabermetric component was added and accounts for 25 percent of the vote, adding in performance metrics from batted ball data and play-by-play data.