clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Yasiel Puig wins 2013 Mulvey Award

The 22-year-old Cuban outfielder was named the top rookie in spring training for the Dodgers.


In a decision that surprised nobody, Dodgers rookie outfielder Yasiel Puig was named the Jim and Dearie Mulvey Award winner on Saturday, given annually to the top rookie in Dodgers camp. The honor is voted on by Dodgers coaches.

Puig has had a blistering spring training, hitting .517/.500/.828 with three home runs, five doubles, two triples, and four stolen bases. Puig was optioned to Double-A Chattanooga on Tuesday.

The past four winners of the award were all traded at some point during the 2012 season: Nathan Eovaldi (2012), Rubby De La Rosa and Jerry Sands (2011), and Josh Lindblom (2010). Mike Piazza (1992-1993) is the only two-time winner of the award.

There have been six Mulvey Award winners to also win Rookie of the Year, though not all in the same season: Ted Sizemore (1969), Fernando Valenzuela (1981), Eric Karros (1991 Mulvey, 1992 ROY), Piazza (1992-1993 Mulvey, 1993 ROY), Raul Mondesi (1994), and Todd Hollandsworth (1996).