clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Ogden Raptors announce 2013 opening day roster

The Raptors begin play in the Pioneer League on Thursday night on the road against the Grand Junction Rockies.

The rookie Pioneer League Ogden Raptors announced their opening day roster on Monday, and the Utah squad will include 11 selections from the 2013 MLB Draft. The Raptors open Pioneer League play on Thursday.

Pitchers (15): Victor Araujo, Scott Barlow, James Baune*, LHP Luis De Paula, Jose Agusto Diaz, LHP Jake Fisher*, Sawil Gonzalez, Kyle Hooper*, LHP Michael Johnson*, Jonathan Martinez, Ricky Perez, Jacob Rhame*, Thomas Taylor*, LHP J.D. Underwood*, Francisco Villa

Catchers (2): Austin Cowen, Kyle Farmer*

Infielders (8): Zach Babitt, Jake Chaplin, Dillon Moyer*, Faustino Oguisten, Alex Santana, Brandon Trinkwon*, Jesus Valdez, Jesmuel Valentin

Outfielders (4): Joey Curletta, Gerson Nunez, Jacob Scavuzzo, Henry Yates*

*2013 MLB Draft pick

Jesmuel Valentin, picked by the Dodgers in the supplemental first round, 51st overall, began 2013 with Class-A Great Lakes Loons, where he hit .212/.325/.293 in 33 games.

Among the returners to the Raptors from 2012 are infielders Alex Santana and Jesus Valdez, catcher Austin Cowen, and pitchers Jonathan Martinez and Sawil Gonzalez.