clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

4 Dodgers named Gold Glove Award finalists

The winners will be announced on November 4.

Richard Mackson-USA TODAY Sports

LOS ANGELES -- Four Dodgers were named finalists for Rawlings Gold Glove Awards on Thursday, including a pair of pitchers. Clayton Kershaw and Zack Greinke are two of the three finalists for the top fielding pitchers in the National League, along with fellow finalists Adrian Gonzalez at first base and Juan Uribe at third base.

The Dodgers haven't had a Gold Glove winner since taking home three awards in 2011, despite having a total of seven finalists in the last two seasons.

The award winners will be announced on Tuesday, Nov. 4 at 4 p.m. PT on ESPN2.

Kershaw and Greinke were joined by Adam Wainwright of the Cardinals as finalists for top-fielding NL pitcher. Greinke was also a finalist in 2013, losing to Wainwright, who won Gold Glove awards in 2009 and 2013. Kershaw was a finalist in 2011 and 2012, winning the award in 2011.

Gonzalez is a finalist at first base along with Adam LaRoche of the Nationals and Justin Morneau of the Rockies. Gonzalez led the National League with 12 defensive runs saved (by Baseball Info Solutions) and was tied with Morneau atop the NL with 10 runs above average in total zone rating ( Gonzalez was fourth in Ultimate Zone Rating at 5.5 runs above average (FanGraphs), with Morneau second and LaRoche 16th among NL first basemen with at least 500 defensive innings.

Gonzalez is a three-time Gold Glove winner, capturing the honor in 2008-2009 with the Padres and 2011 with the Red Sox. The last Dodgers first baseman to win a Gold Glove was Steve Garvey in 1977.

A change in recent years in Gold Glove voting has brought a sabermetric component to the award, accounting for roughly a quarter of the decision. Voting among managers and coaches account for 75 percent of the selection process.

Uribe is a finalist at third base along with Nolan Arenado of the Rockies and Pablo Sandoval of the Giants. Uribe, who was a finalist but lost out to Arenado in 2013, led NL third basemen in defensive runs saved (17), total zone rating (10) and UZR (12.6) despite starting only 98 games at third base. Arenado only started 111 games at third base, while Sandoval started 150 games at the hot corner.

Gold Glove Awards have been awarded since 1957. No Dodgers third baseman has ever won one.