clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Adrian Gonzalez, Juan Uribe win Wilson Defensive Player of the Year awards

Harry How

LOS ANGELES -- A pair of Dodgers - first baseman Adrian Gonzalez and third baseman Juan Uribe - were honored with Wilson Baseball Defensive Player of the Year awards at their respective positions on Wednesday.

It is baseball awards season, with some honors more revered than others. The Wilson defensive awards were founded in 2012, but are officially recognized by MLB, perhaps because Wilson is the official glove of Major League Baseball.

The results for these awards, which includes one player at each position for all of baseball, is determined, per Wilson, by "a formula that combines traditional defensive stats with advanced metrics, as well as the data logged by the baseball experts working for the scouting service Inside Edge."

Gonzalez led major league first baseman in defensive runs saved (12) and was second to Justin Morneau with nine runs above average in total zone rating. He was also honored on Tuesday with his fourth career Gold Glove Award, and on Oct. 30 was named the top defensive first baseman in baseball by the Fielding Bible.

Uribe led major league third baseman in defensive runs saved (17), was tied with Nolan Arenado atop baseball in total zone rating (+10), and was third in baseball in UZR (+12.6, tops in the National League). Uribe was a finalist for NL Gold Glove at third base, but lost to Arenado.

The Dodgers duo was joined in the Wilson awards by pitcher Johnny Cueto, catcher Russell Martin, second baseman Ian Kinsler, shortstop Andrelton Simmons, and outfielders Alex Gordon, Lorenzo Cain and Jason Heyward.

The Reds were named defensive team of the year, with Heyward named overall defensive player of the year.