clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Clayton Kershaw wins 2014 Warren Spahn Award

Kershaw has won the Spahn Award in 2011, 2013 and 2014.

Stephen Dunn

LOS ANGELES -- Dodgers ace Clayton Kershaw was named the 2014 Warren Spahn Award winner, given annually to best left-handed pitcher in the majors. The award is presented by the Oklahoma Sports Council in the home state of Spahn, a Hall of Famer who won 363 games in his career.

The Spahn Award ranks southpaws on wins, strikeouts and ERA. Kershaw led the majors with 21 wins and a 1.77 ERA, and his 239 strikeouts was three off the National League lead and ranked second among major league left-handers to David Price (271).

Kershaw has won the award three times in the last four years - also in 2011 and 2013 - so far matching the years he has won the National League Cy Young Award. Kershaw is in the top three in balloting for the 2014 NL Cy Young Award, which will be announced on Nov. 12.

"It is an honor to be the recipient of the 2014 Warren Spahn Award," Kershaw said in a statement. "I’m humbled to be recognized by the Bricktown Rotary Club again this year – the prestige of this award isn’t lost on me. I am also grateful for the opportunity to play alongside so many awesome teammates who provide the support and confidence for me to do my job. Warren Spahn was a great pitcher with a legendary career. To be recognized in his honor is pretty special."

The Spahn Award has been given out since 1999. Past winners aside from Kershaw are Gio Gonzalez (2012), Price (2010), CC Sabathia (2007–2009), Johan Santana (2004, 2006), Dontrelle Willis (2005), Andy Pettitte (2003), and Randy Johnson (1999–2002).

Kershaw will receive the Spahn Award at the Jim Thorpe Association and Oklahoma Sports Hall of Fame Museum on January.