clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

All-Star Game

MLB All-Star ballot released, sans Carl Crawford

Fan voting online runs through July 3, and will be held at Dodger Stadium from May 8 to June 18.

Christian Petersen

LOS ANGELES -- While Don Mattingly may be struggling with divvying time in the outfield for four, and sometimes five players, the Major League Baseball All-Star ballot has no such trouble. Annual fan voting for the midsummer classic begins on Friday, but four-time All-Star Carl Crawford would have to be a write-in candidate to start.

Not that hitting .222/.231/.317 to date will garner many votes.

The All-Star ballot features one player at each position for each team, and the three listed Dodgers outfielders are two-time All-Star Andre Ethier, two-time All-Star Matt Kemp and Yasiel Puig. They are joined by catcher A.J. Ellis, first baseman and four-time All-Star Adrian Gonzalez, second baseman Dee Gordon, third baseman Juan Uribe and shortstop Hanley Ramirez, a three-time All-Star.

Fans can vote online, up to 35 times per email address, from Friday through Thursday, July 3 at 8:59 p.m. PT. All 30 MLB stadiums will get 23 games of in-stadium paper balloting, with Dodger Stadium voting dates running from May 8 to June 18. Fans pick starters at every defensive position except pitcher, plus a designated hitter in the American League.

The 2014 All-Star Game will be held on Tuesday, July 15 at Target Field in Minnesota, televised by Fox.

The initial 33-player All-Star rosters for each league will be announced during the weekend of July 5-6, followed by an online fan "Final Vote" for a 34th player for each team.

Both Puig and Gonzalez were among five candidates for the Final Vote in 2013, but were beaten out by Braves first baseman Freddie Freeman.

This year will also feature a fan poll for the Home Run Derby, but the fans don't directly pick the contestants for the Monday, July 14 event. Puig is one of 10 National League candidates, along with Pedro Alvarez, Jay Bruce, Paul Goldschmidt, Bryce Harper, Jason Heyward, Buster Posey, Giancarlo Stanton, Troy Tulowitzki, David Wright.

Fans vote for the three candidates they would most like to see in the event, but MLB will ultimately choose the derby contestants.

The 10 American League candidates for the Home Run Derby are Jose Bautista, Carlos Beltran, Miguel Cabrera, Robinson Cano, Yoenis Cespedes, Chris Davis, Prince Fielder, Joe Mauer, David Ortiz and Mike Trout.