clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Dee Gordon stolen base tracker: None Saturday, still ahead of Maury Wills' 1962 pace

Even with no steals on Saturday, Gordon is on pace for 91 steals on the season.

Bill Streicher-USA TODAY Sports

Dodgers second baseman De Gordon was 1-for-4 in Saturday's loss to the Phillies, but did not steal a base. His speed was a factor in the fifth inning when pitcher David Buchanan, in his major league debut, made an errant pickoff throw with Gordon on second base, allowing him to advance to third.

Gordon's single did drive in the second Dodgers run of the day. He is on pace for 91 steals on the season.

Even without a steal on Saturday, Gordon's 28 steals through 50 team games is ahead of the pace of Maury Wills in his record-setting 104-steal campaign in 1962.

Here's a look at Gordon and Wills through similar points in the season.

Scenario Wills 1962 Wills 1965 Gordon 2014
SB/CS through 50 team games 27/3 34/8 28/3
SB/CS rest of the season 77/10 60/23 TBD
Game No. 51 1-for-5, 0 SB 2-for-5, CS vs. RHP Burnett

Wills didn't steal a base in the Dodgers' 51st game in 1962, nor in 1965. The Dodgers' 51st game in 1965 was the first game of a doubleheader against Milwaukee. Wills tried to steal in the third inning against pitcher Dick Kelley, but was thrown out by catcher Joe Torre. Jim Gilliam, the batter at the plate, followed with a home run.

Up next

The Dodgers go for a series win on Sunday morning, with a battle of 2001-2005 Marlins. a Josh Beckett starts for the Dodgers, facing A.J. Burnett for Philadelphia. Gordon was 2-for-3 with a double and stole two bases against Burnett on April 22 at Dodger Stadium.

Burnett has allowed 10 of 12 runners to steal successfully in 10 starts this season, and since the start of 2013 his 32 steals allowed is tied for the third-most in baseball.

Burnett has allowed the most steals in baseball since the start of the 2012 season. And since the start of the 2011 season. And since the start of every season, dating all the way back to 2001. You have to include the 2000 season to find a period (2000-2014) when someone has allowed more stolen bases, with Tim Wakefield (309) ahead of Burnett (298).