clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

All-Star Game

Adrian Gonzalez leads NL 1B All-Star voting, Dee Gordon 2nd at 2B, Yasiel Puig 5th in OF

Jim McIsaac

LOS ANGELES -- The first look at the National League All-Star ballot results was revealed on Wednesday, and Adrian Gonzalez leads all National League first basemen.

Gonzalez made four All-Star teams from 2008-2011, and is hitting .273/.344/.515 with 12 home runs and 36 RBI so far this year. He has 349.762 votes, leading the Braves' Freddie Freeman (308,961 votes) and the Rockies' Justin Morneau (305,327).

Yasiel Puig has been the Dodgers' best player, hitting .346/.445/.615 with 10 home runs and 38 RBI. He's fifth among NL outfielders with 383,384 votes, 63,396 votes out of a starting spot. The outfielders ahead of Puig on the ballot are the Rockies' Charlie Blackmon (549,394), reigning MVP Andrew McCutchen (467,378), the Brewers' Ryan Braun (446,780) and NL home run leader Giancarlo Stanton (426,228).

The 2014 All-Star Game will be played on Tuesday, July 15 at Target Field in Minnesota.

The last Dodger voted to start an All-Star Game was Matt Kemp in 2012 in Kansas City. Kemp, who missed 51 of 53 games heading into the All-Star break with a pair of hamstring strains, participated in the home run derby but did not play in the game.

Puig made his major league debut in 2013 on June 3, a mere five weeks before All-Star rosters were announced. But because he started off so hot, hitting .409/.437/.677 with eight home runs through July 7, Puig was added to the Final Vote, but along with Gonzalez lost out to Freeman in the fan vote for the final roster spot.

Dee Gordon leads the major leagues with 30 stolen bases and is hitting .283/.332/.369. He is second among second basemen with 304,258 votes, trailing Chase Utley of the Phillies (509,390).

Currently injured Juan Uribe ranks fourth among NL third basemen with 270,425 votes, though reasonably close to leader and also hurt Nolan Arenado of the Rockies (318,111).

Hanley Ramirez ranks fourth among NL shortstops, at 206,866 votes well behind NL top vote-getter Troy Tulowitzki (745,823). The other Dodger to show up among the leading vote-getters is Matt Kemp, who has been held out of the starting lineup for five straight games but is currently 15th among NL outfielders with 162,681 votes.

In-stadium voting across baseball runs through June 26, including through June 18 at Dodger Stadium (every major league stadium is allowed 23 home dates for balloting), and online voting continues through 8:59 p.m. PT on July 3. The All-Star teams will be announced during the weekend of July 5-6.