clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

All-Star Game

Yasiel Puig still leads NL OF All-Star voting, Adrian Gonzalez falls to 2nd at 1B

Puig is vying to be the youngest Dodger to start an All-Star Game since Steve Sax at 23 years, 158 days old in 1983.

Kirby Lee-USA TODAY Sports

LOS ANGELES -- The Dodgers haven't had multiple position players start an All-Star Game since 1980, the last time the midsummer classic was held at Dodger Stadium. But in the latest update in National League All-Star balloting, both Yasiel Puig and Adrian Gonzalez are lobbying to do just that.

Puig holds a comfortable lead among NL outfielders, with 1,942,701 total votes. Andrew McCutchen of the Pirates is second with 1,727,534 votes, followed by Giancarlo Stanton of the Marlins (1,659,430) and Carlos Gomez (1,628,401) and Ryan Braun of the Brewers (1,388,578).

Gonzalez, who led first basemen in voting in each of the first three ballot updates, is now second at the position with 1,049,222 votes, trailing a hard-charging Paul Goldschmidt of the Diamondbacks (1,291,052). Freddie Freeman of the Braves (920,361), Justin Morneau of the Rockies (781,963) and Brandon Belt of the Giants (775,334) round out the top five.

The last time multiple Dodgers position players started an All-Star Game was 34 years ago, when Steve Garvey, Davey Lopes, Bill Russell and Reggie Smith all started at home in 1980. The last time the Dodgers had two All-Star starters of any kind was In 1995, when pitcher Hideo Nomo was tabbed to start along with catcher Mike Piazza, who was voted in.

The 2015 All-Star Game will be played at Target Field in Minnesota on Tuesday, July 15.

Dee Gordon slipped to third place at second base with 898,226 votes, just behind Neil Walker of the Pirates (997,347). Chase Utley of the Phillies leads with 1,678,843 votes.

Hanley Ramirez ranks fourth among NL shortstops with 667,162 votes, a country mile behind NL overall vote leader Troy Tulowitzki of the Rockies (2,593,387).

Juan Uribe is no longer in the top five among National League third basemen. David Wright of the Mets leads at the hot corner with 1,051,640 votes, followed by Pablo Sandoval of the Giants (973,221), Nolan Arenado of the Rockies (895,905), and Aramis Ramirez of the Brewers (814,627).

Yadier Molina of the Cardinals leads at catcher with 2,003,557 votes, holding steadily ahead of Buster Posey of the Giants (1,414,363 votes).

In-stadium voting across baseball runs through June 26, including through Wednesday at Dodger Stadium (every major league stadium is allowed 23 home dates for balloting), and online voting continues through 8:59 p.m. PT on July 3. The All-Star teams will be announced during the weekend of July 5-6.