clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Clayton Kershaw wins Roy Campanella Award for 2nd straight year

Kershaw is the first to win the Campanella Award twice.

Jayne Kamin-Oncea-USA TODAY Sports

LOS ANGELES -- Dodgers pitcher Clayton Kershaw on Monday was named the Roy Campanella Award winner for 2014, an honor given annually to the Dodger who most exemplifies the spirit and leadership of the former Hall of Fame catcher.

The award is voted on by Dodgers uniformed personnel, and has been given out since 2007. Kershaw, who also won the award in 2013, is the first two-time Campanella Award winner.

The Dodgers will present Kershaw with the award before Monday night's game in a pregame ceremony with Campanella's daughter Joni Campanella Roan as well as Hall of Famer Don Newcombe.

Kershaw is going to win his third National League Cy Young Award in four seasons, and this adds to what could be quite a haul for the left-hander during awards season. Just last week, Kershaw was named a finalist for both the Roberto Clemente Award and the Marvin Miller Man of the Year Award, both of which recognize accomplishments both on and off the field.

Russell Martin won the first Roy Campanella Award in 2007, and has been followed by James Loney (2008), Juan Pierre (2009), Jamey Carroll (2010), Matt Kemp (2011), A.J. Ellis (2012), then Kershaw the last two seasons.