clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Adrian Gonzalez, Zack Greinke named 2015 Gold Glove Award finalists

If you buy something from an SB Nation link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

Jayne Kamin-Oncea-USA TODAY Sports

LOS ANGELES -- A pair of Dodgers were named finalists for 2015 Rawlings Gold Glove Awards on Thursday, with pitcher Zack Greinke and first baseman Adrian Gonzalez selected by National League managers and coaches as among the top three at their position in their league.

Gold Glove Awards are determined by a combination of managers and coaches voting and a SABR defensive statistical component, with the caveat that votes must be for players in the same league but can't be for players on their own team.

The winners will be announced on Tuesday, Nov. 10 at 4 p.m. PT on ESPN2.

Both Gonzalez and Greinke won Gold Glove Awards in 2014.

Gonzalez is a four-time Gold Glove Award winner, capturing the honor in 2008 and 2009 with the Padres, in 2011 with the Red Sox, and in 2014 with the Dodgers. He was a finalist in the American League in 2012 and the National League in 2013.

Rawlings has announced three finalists at each position since 2011. The Gold Glove Awards date all the way back to 1956.

The NL first base Gold Glove will be in the National League West, with Paul Goldschmidt of the Diamondbacks and Brandon Belt of the Giants the other two finalists.

Gonzalez led NL first baseman with 16 Total Zone Rating, was tied for second with 10 Defensive Runs Saved, and was fifth in Ultimate Zone Rating at 3.6 runs above average. Goldschmidt was tops in Defensive Runs Saved, with Belt atop the UZR leaderboard.

Should Gonzalez win the Gold Glove Award, he will earn a $100,000 bonus.

Other NL finalists at pitcher are Cubs starter Jake Arrieta and Gerrit Cole of the Pirates.

Greinke led National League pitchers with nine defensive runs saved, three more than the next-closest in the league, a group that includes both Arrieta and Cole. Greinke in addition to winning the Gold Glove in 2014 was a finalist in 2013.

No other Dodgers were named finalists.