clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Players vote Zack Greinke as NL Outstanding Pitcher in 2015

Jayne Kamin-Oncea-USA TODAY Sports

Dodgers pitcher Zack Greinke was recognized by his peers as the Outstanding Pitcher in the National League in 2015, in MLB Players Choice Awards results announced on Monday night.

Greinke beat out teammate Clayton Kershaw and Cubs ace Jake Arrieta, the other two finalists for the award. The Dodgers have won this award in four of the last five years, with Kershaw winning in 2011, 2013 and 2015.

The winner of seven of the last eight NL Outstanding Pitcher of the Year awards has gone on to win the NL Cy Young Award that season. Dating back to 2007, the only time that hasn't happened was in 2009, when Adam Wainwright won the players' award, then finished third in ridiculously close Cy Young balloting behind winner Tim Lincecum and teammate Chris Carpenter.

Players voted for the MLB Players Choice awards in mid-September. For winning Outstanding NL Pitcher, Greinke receives a $20,000 grant that will go to a charity of his choice.

Greinke was 19-3 with a 1.66 ERA in 2015, with 200 strikeouts and 40 walks in 222⅔ innings, leading the majors in ERA, WHIP (.0844), quality starts (30), on-base percentage against (.231) and OPS against (.507).

Greinke also won the Most Outstanding Player in the AL in 2009, the same year he won the AL Cy Young Award.

There have been three Dodgers to win NL Outstanding Pitcher, an award given by MLB players since 1994 - Eric Gagne (2003), Kershaw (2011, 2013, 2014) and Greinke.