clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Zack Greinke voted 2015 Roy Campanella Award winner

The Campanella Award has been given annually since 2006.

Mark J. Rebilas-USA TODAY Sports

LOS ANGELES -- Dodgers pitcher Zack Greinke on Wednesday was named the 2015 winner of the Roy Campanella Award, given annually to the most inspirational Dodger, one who most exemplifies the leadership and spirit of the Hall of Fame catcher.

The award is voted on by Dodgers uniformed personnel, so players and coaches decide.

The Dodgers will present Greinke the award before Sunday afternoon's regular season finale at Dodger Stadium, in a pregame ceremony that will include Campanella's daughter, Joni Campanella Roan.

Greinke, 31, is having a storybook season, at 18-3 in his 31 starts, leading the majors in ERA (1.68) and WHIP (0.852). He had a scoreless streak of 45⅔ innings, which including six consecutive starts without allowing a run, tying the major league record set by fellow Dodgers Don Drysdale and Orel Hershiser.

Greinke has lasted at leas six innings in each of his 31 starts in 2015, with one start remaining on Saturday at home against San Diego. Greinke leads the majors with 29 quality starts, trying to become the first major league pitcher since Felix Hernandez in 2010 with 30 quality starts in a season. The last year a Dodger did so was 1969, with both Claude Osteen (31) and Bill Singer (30) reaching the milestone.

Clayton Kershaw won the Campanella Award in each of the last two seasons, preceded by A.J. Ellis (2012), Matt Kemp (2011), Jamey Carroll (2010), Juan Pierre (2009), James Loney (2008), Russell Martin (2007) and Rafael Furcal (2006).