clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Kenley Jansen wins 2016 Trevor Hoffman Award as top NL relief pitcher

NLCS - Chicago Cubs v Los Angeles Dodgers - Game Three Photo by Sean M. Haffey/Getty Images

LOS ANGELES — Dodgers closer Kenley Jansen was voted the 2016 winner of the Trevor Hoffman Award, given annually to the top relief pitcher in the National League. Jansen will be honored before Game 4 of the World Series on Saturday night at Wrigley Field.

Jansen set a career high with 47 saves in 2016, tied for second in the National League, to go with his 1.83 ERA. His 104 strikeouts ranked third among NL relievers, and were accompanied by only 11 walks.

The Hoffman Award and its American League Equivalent, the Mariano Rivera Award, were instituted by MLB in 2014. They are voted on by a panel of all-time great relievers, including Hoffman, Rivera, Dennis Eckersley, Rollie Fingers, Bruce Sutter, Lee Smith, John Franco, and Billy Wagner.

Each panelist votes for their top three relievers in each league, with points awarded on a 5-3-1 basis.

Orioles closer Zach Britton won the Rivera Award.