clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Corey Seager wins National League Rookie of the Year Award unanimously

Kenta Maeda finished 3rd

Los Angeles Dodgers v Cincinnati Reds Photo by Jamie Sabau/Getty Images

LOS ANGELES — Dodgers shortstop Corey Seager had one of the best rookie seasons in Dodgers franchise history in 2016, and on Monday was rewarded with the National League Rookie of the Year Award as voted by the Baseball Writers Association of America.

Seager is the first Dodger to win National League Rookie of the Year since Todd Hollandsworth in 1996. The Dodgers have won 17 Rookie of the Year awards, more than double any other team.

Seager received all 30 first-place votes to outpace Trea Turner of the Nationals in a landslide. Dodgers pitcher Kenta Maeda finished in third place.

Turner received 11 second-place votes and nine third-place votes, finishing with 42 points. Maeda received 11 second-place votes and four third-place votes, totaling 37 points. Points were awarded on a 5-3-1 basis.

This is the third straight year there has been a unanimous Rookie of the Year, with Seager following Kris Bryant (2014 NL) and Jose Abreu (2013 AL).

Seager hit .308/.365/.512 with 26 home runs and 40 doubles, setting a Dodgers record for home runs in a season by a shortstop. He was the seventh Dodgers rookie to be named a National League All-Star.

He also set LA Dodgers franchise rookie records in hits (193), runs (105), doubles (40) and total bases (321).

Seager finished fifth in the National League in rWAR (6.1) and second in fWAR (7.5).

Seager is the third Dodgers unanimous Rookie of the Year, joining Mike Piazza (1993) and Raul Mondesi (1994).

The full list of Dodgers Rookie of the Year winners:

1947 - Jackie Robinson 1B (MLB award)
1949 - Don Newcombe SP
1952 - Joe Black RP
1953 - Jim Gilliam 2B
1960 - Frank Howard RF
1965 - Jim Lefebvre 2B
1969 - Ted Sizemore 2B/SS
1979 - Rick Sutcliffe SP
1980 - Steve Howe RP
1981 - Fernando Valenzuela SP
1982 - Steve Sax 2B
1992 - Eric Karros 1B
1993 - Mike Piazza C
1994 - Raul Mondesi RF
1995 - Hideo Nomo SP
1996 - Todd Hollandsworth LF
2016 - Corey Seager SS