clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

MLB award season is coming

MLB: Los Angeles Dodgers at Cincinnati Reds
Corey Seager and Dave Roberts could collect some hardware in the next couple of weeks.
David Kohl-USA TODAY Sports

Now that November has arrived and the offseason arrives Thursday, baseball awards will start rolling in, beginning next week. Here is a schedule of relevant awards and when they will be announced, and which Dodgers are in play.

Monday, Nov. 7: BBWAA award finalists, 3 p.m. PT (MLB Network)
The top three finishers in each league will be announced for Manager of the Year, Rookie of the Year, Cy Young, and MVP. One could make a reasonable argument that despite missing 10 weeks, Clayton Kershaw was still the best pitcher in the National League in 2016, but he isn’t likely to win his fourth Cy Young Award. On Monday, we find out if he extends his record streak of top-3 finishes to six years.

Tuesday, Nov. 8: Gold Glove Award winners, 5 p.m. (ESPN)
The only Dodger to finish among the top three at his position is Justin Turner, a finalist at third base in the National League. We will find out whether Turner captures his first Gold Glove, or if Nolan Arenado takes home his fourth Gold Glove in four seasons.

Wednesday, Nov. 9: Players Choice Awards, 5 p.m. (MLB Network)
These awards were voted on by MLB players in September, and the Dodgers have four finalists: Kershaw for NL Outstanding Pitcher, Turner for Marvin Miller Man of the Year, Corey Seager or NL Outstanding Rookie, and Rich Hill for NL Comeback Player.

Thursday, Nov. 10: Silver Slugger Awards, 3 p.m. (MLB Network)
These are the top offensive players at each position, as voted on by managers and coaches in each league. Dodgers to watch here include Seager (topped NL shortstops in hits, runs, doubles and a 138 wRC+; second in home runs) and Yasmani Grandal (led MLB catchers with 27 home runs, 3rd in NL with 124 wRC+). No Dodgers shortstop has ever won a Silver Slugger, which has been around since 1980.

Monday, Nov. 14: Rookie of the Year, 3 p.m. (MLB Network)
Seager is the overwhelming favorite here to take National League honors, which would be the first Dodgers Rookie of the Year since outfielder Todd Hollandsworth in 1996. The Dodgers have won 16 Rookie of the Year Awards, twice as many as any other team.

Tuesday, Nov. 15: Manager of the Year, 3 p.m. (MLB Network)
Dave Roberts, like Seager, captured the Sporting News award, but will the BBWAA agree? The last Dodger to with Manager of the Year was Tommy Lasorda in 1988.

Wednesday, Nov. 16: Cy Young, 3 p.m. (MLB Network)
Where Kershaw finishes will be the local story. He has won three Cy Young Awards, and has received 91 first-place votes in the last five years, finishing second (2012) and third (2015) in the years he didn’t win during that span.

Thursday, Nov. 17: Most Valuable Player, 3 p.m. (MLB Network)
Cubs third baseman and outfielder Kris Bryant is the favorite to win, so this could just be seeing how high Seager finishes. Kershaw won the award in 2014, but the last Dodgers position player to finish in the top five in MVP voting was Matt Kemp, who finished second in 2011.