clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Corey Seager, Kenta Maeda named NL Rookie of the Year finalists

Dodgers haven’t had a Rookie of the Year winner since 1996

Arizona Diamondbacks v Los Angeles Dodgers Photo by Jayne Kamin-Oncea/Getty Images

LOS ANGELES — Dodgers shortstop Corey Seager is the favorite to win the 2016 National League Rookie of the Year, and on Monday was named one of the top three finishers in voting from the Baseball Writers Association of America. But he wasn’t the only Dodger in the top three. Kenta Maeda is a finalist as well.

The other finalist for the award is Nationals outfielder Trea Turner.

The Rookie of the Year winners in both leagues will be revealed on Monday, Nov. 14 on MLB Network at 3 p.m. PT.

The Rookie of the Year Awards are named after Dodgers legend and Hall of Famer Jackie Robinson, who captured the first such award in 1947, then a major-league-wide honor. The Dodgers have won 16 Rookie of the Year Awards, double the amount of any other franchise, but they haven’t had a winner since outfielder Todd Hollandsworth in 1996.

Seager and Maeda are the first Dodgers to finish in the top three in Rookie of the Year voting since Yasiel Puig, who finished second to Jose Fernandez in 2013. This is the first time the Dodgers will have two players in the top three of ROY voting.

Seager won the Sporting News NL Rookie of the Year Award in October.