clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

2016 MLB postseason schedule: NLDS begins Friday, Oct. 7

New, 130 comments
Stephen Dunn/Getty Images

LOS ANGELES -- Major League Baseball announced the 2016 postseason schedule on Tuesday, and the National League Division Series will begin on Friday, Oct. 7.

The National League Wild Card Game will be played on Wednesday, Oct. 5 and be televised by ESPN, one day after the American League Wild Card Game on TBS.

Starting the NLDS on Friday allows an NL team to start its Game 1 starter on the final day of the regular season and be ready on regular rest five days later. Heading into their three-game series on Tuesday night in Los Angeles, the Dodgers lead the Giants by one game in the NL West, and San Francisco is in first wild card position, 1½ games ahead of the Cardinals.

The Dodgers and Giants end the regular season with three games at AT&T Park in San Francisco from Sept. 30 through Sunday, Oct. 2.

The World Series starts on Tuesday, Oct. 25 in the park of the American League pennant winner. Should the series last more than five games, November baseball will be played, with Games 6 and 7 scheduled for Nov. 1-2.

Here is the full National League postseason schedule:

NL Wild Card Game

Wednesday, Oct. 5 (ESPN)

NLDS

Game 1: Friday, Oct. 7 (Fox Sports 1 or MLB Network)
Game 2: Saturday, Oct. 8 (Fox Sports 1 or MLB Network)
Game 3: Monday, Oct. 10 (Fox Sports 1 or MLB Network)
Game 4*: Tuesday, Oct. 11 (Fox Sports 1)
Game 5*: Thursday, Oct. 13 (Fox Sports 1)

NLCS

Game 1: Saturday, Oct. 15 (Fox or Fox Sports 1)
Game 2: Sunday, Oct. 16 (Fox or Fox Sports 1)
Game 3: Tuesday, Oct. 18 (Fox or Fox Sports 1)
Game 4: Wednesday, Oct. 19 (Fox or Fox Sports 1)
Game 5*: Thursday, Oct. 20 (Fox or Fox Sports 1)
Game 6*: Saturday, Oct. 22 (Fox or Fox Sports 1)
Game 7*: Sunday, Oct. 23 (Fox or Fox Sports 1)

World Series

Game 1: Tuesday, Oct. 25 at AL (Fox)
Game 2: Wednesday, Oct. 26 at AL (Fox)
Game 3: Friday, Oct. 28 at NL (Fox)
Game 4: Saturday, Oct. 29 at NL (Fox)
Game 5*: Sunday, Oct. 30 at NL (Fox)
Game 6*: Tuesday, Nov. 1 at AL (Fox)
Game 7*: Wednesday, Nov. 2 at AL (Fox)

*if necessary