clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Chase Utley named 2016 Roy Campanella Award winner

Utley is the 11th honoree, the first award was given in 2006

Chase Utley
Richard Mackson-USA TODAY Sports

LOS ANGELES —- The Los Angeles Dodgers announced tonight that Chase Utley had been named the 2016 Roy Campanella Award winner. Joni Campanella Roan, Campanella’s daughter, will present the award to Utley before Saturday’s game.

The award is given to the player who best exemplifies the spirit and leadership of the three-time MVP and Hall of Fame inductee. Dodger players and coaching staff are the voters for this award.

“That’s a fitting award for Chase,” said manager Dave Roberts after the game.

“Just the way we go about playing every pitch with intent, attention to detail, preparedness and all that stuff, that was Chase does, said Roberts, “a guy that everyone in the clubhouse has respect for, has learned from.”

“And as I said today in our little gathering, me as a coach,” said Roberts, “I’ve learned a ton of things from him just watching him on the day to day, and I think I can speak for every coach, we certainly would not be here without him.”

Chase Utley has scored 74 runs and has hit 25 doubles and 12 home runs this season. He has started 112 games at second base and has primarily batted in the leadoff spot.

Zack Greinke was the 2015 Campanella Award winner. Prior winners are Clayton Kershaw (who won in both 2013 and 2014), A.J. Ellis (2012), Matt Kemp (2011), Jamey Carroll (2010), Juan Pierre (2009), James Loney (2008), Russell Martin (2007), and Rafael Furcal (2006).