clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Kershaw, Seager, Hill, Turner finalists for MLB Players Choice awards

Winners will be revealed on Nov. 9 on MLB Network

Los Angeles Dodgers v Colorado Rockies Photo by Dustin Bradford/Getty Images

LOS ANGELES -- A quartet of Dodgers are finalists for 2016 MLB Players Choice Awards, with Corey Seager, Clayton Kershaw, Rich Hill and Justin Turner among the top three in their respective awards as voted on by their peers.

The winners of these Players Choice Awards will be announced on Nov. 9 on MLB Network from 5-6:30 p.m. PT.

Kershaw is one of three finalists for National League Outstanding Pitcher, along with Max Scherzer of the Nationals and Kyle Kendricks of the Cubs. It will be interesting to see just how high Kershaw — who was far and away the best pitcher in baseball before missing 10 weeks with a herniated disc in his back -- will finish both in this award and in National League Cy Young Award voting, at 20 starts and 142 innings before his regular season finale on Saturday.

Kershaw won the NL Outstanding Pitcher Award in 2011, 2013 and 2014.

Seager is one of three finalists for NL Outstanding Rookie, along with Aledmys Diaz of the Cardinals and Trea Turner of the Brewers. Seager did not, however, make the top three for NL Outstandng Player. Those three finalists are Kyle Bryant of the Cubs, Daniel Murphy of the Nationals, and Nolan Arenado of the Rockies.

The last NL Outstanding Rookie from the Dodgers was Todd Hollandsworth in 1996, also the last LA winner of the NL Rookie of the Year award.

Hill, who was playing independent league baseball as late as August 2015, is a finalist for NL Comeback Player, along with Jean Segura of the Diamondbacks and the late Jose Fernandez of the Marlins.

It should be noted that the players voted on these awards on Sept. 20.

Nomar Garciaparra in 2006 is the only Dodger to win the Comeback Player Award, which was first awarded in 1992 and has been awarded annually since 1997.

Turner has advanced from one of 30 team nominees for the Marvin Miller Man of the Year Award, to one of the six finalists (one from each division), now to one of the top three, a finalist along with Curtis Granderson of the Mets and Anthony Rizzo of the Cubs, for the award that recognizes both on- and off-field deeds.

Kershaw is the only Dodger to win the Marvin Miller Man of the Year award, doing so in 2014.