clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Cody Bellinger the unanimous winner of NL Rookie of the Year

18th Dodgers player to win the award

MLB: Los Angeles Dodgers at Atlanta Braves Dale Zanine-USA TODAY Sports

LOS ANGELES — Dodgers first baseman Cody Bellinger spent the first three weeks of the 2017 season in the minor leagues. On Monday, he took home a major award, unanimously winning the National League Rookie of the Year, as voted on by the Baseball Writers Association of America.

Bellinger received all 30 first-place votes in winning the award, beating out Cardinals shortstop Paul DeJong and Pirates first baseman Josh Bell for the Dodgers’ second straight Rookie of the Year honor.

Shortstop Corey Seager won the award in 2016. Bellinger gives the Dodgers 18 Rookie of Year awards, nine more than any other team.

After starting the season in Triple-A Oklahoma City, Bellinger was called up to the majors on Apr. 25.

“I thought I was going to be a September call-up, maybe mid to end of the season. I had no expectations to get called up at the time I did,” Bellinger said in October. “But when Triple-A season started, I wanted to do everything I could to have the front office trust me if they were to call me up.”

He hit .267/.352/.581 in 132 games, setting a National League rookie record with 39 home runs while leading the Dodgers with 97 RBI and 87 runs scored. Bellinger’s 39 home runs were the third-most by a player in his age-21 season or younger, behind only Eddie Mathews (47 home runs, in 1953) and Mel Ott (42, in 1929).

In addition to starting 83 games at first base, Bellinger’s speed and agility allowed him to start 43 games in the outfield as well, including starts at all three outfield spots.

“His DNA, he just is really even keeled, and he knows he belongs here, and knew that early on. He has the talent,” manager Dave Roberts said during the postseason. “Defensively he will win a Gold Glove at some point.”

Bellinger this season was also named the top rookie in the National League by both the Sporting News and in the MLB Players Choice Awards.

Bellinger is one of 23 unanimous Rookies of the Year, along with fellow Dodgers Mike Piazza (1993), Raul Mondesi (1994) and Seager. Yankees outfielder Aaron Judge took home the American League ROY honors this year, also unanimously.

Unanimous Rookie of the Year Award winners

Player Year Team League Votes
Player Year Team League Votes
Frank Robinson 1956 Reds NL 24
Orlando Cepeda 1958 Giants NL 21
Willie McCovey 1959 Giants NL 24
Carlton Fisk 1972 Red Sox AL 24
Vince Coleman 1985 Cardinals NL 24
Mark McGwire 1987 Athletics AL 28
Benito Santiago 1987 Padres NL 24
Sandy Alomar Jr. 1990 Indians AL 28
Mike Piazza 1993 Dodgers NL 28
Tim Salmon 1993 Angels AL 28
Raul Mondesi 1994 Dodgers NL 28
Derek Jeter 1996 Yankees AL 28
Nomar Garciaparra 1997 Red Sox AL 28
Scott Rolen 1997 Phillies NL 28
Albert Pujols 2001 Cardinals NL 32
Evan Longoria 2007 Rays AL 28
Craig Kimbrel 2011 Braves NL 32
Mike Trout 2012 Angels AL 28
Jose Abreu 2014 White Sox AL 30
Kris Bryant 2015 Cubs NL 30
Corey Seager 2016 Dodgers NL 30
Cody Bellinger 2017 Dodgers NL 30
Aaron Judge 2017 Yankees AL 30