clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2017 MLB awards schedule

MLB: Los Angeles Dodgers at Milwaukee Brewers Jeff Hanisch-USA TODAY Sports

It is awards season in Major League Baseball, and here is a schedule of the various honors given out, plus the Dodgers involved where applicable.

Monday, Nov. 6

The top three finishers for all four BBWAA awards — Manager of the Year, Rookie of the Year, Cy Young, and MVP — will be revealed in a one-hour show on MLB Network (3 p.m. PT).

Tuesday, Nov. 7

Gold Glove Award winners will be announced on ESPN (6 p.m.). Two Dodgers are finalists — right fielder Yasiel Puig and shortstop Corey Seager. Both would be first time winners should they prevail.

Wednesday, Nov. 8

MLB Players Choice Awards will be announced on MLB Network (5 p.m.). Players voted on 10 different awards. First baseman Cody Bellinger is a finalist for NL Outstanding Rookie, and Clayton Kershaw is a finalist for NL Outstanding PItcher.

Thursday, Nov. 9

Silver Slugger Awards, given to the top offensive player at each position, will be revealed on MLB Network (3 p.m.). Potential Dodgers winners here include third baseman Justin Turner, Seager, and Bellinger, though each faces stiff competition from the likes of Nolan Arenado and Anthony Rendon at the hot corner, Zack Cozart at shortstop, and Paul Goldschmidt and Joey Votto at first.

Monday, Nov. 13

Rookies of the Year will be revealed on MLB Network (3 p.m.). Bellinger is a lock here.

Tuesday, Nov. 14

Managers of the Year will be announced (3 p.m., MLB Network). Dave Roberts could conceivably win for a second straight year, but the odds are long with both Torey Lovullo in Arizona and Bud Black in Colorado leading teams from well under .500 to the playoffs in 2017.

Wednesday, Nov. 15

Cy Young Awards will be revealed (3 p.m., MLB Network), which means Kershaw will be involved, though Nationals right-hander Max Scherzer is probably the favorite to win for a second straight year.

Thursday, Nov. 16

MVP Awards will be announced on MLB Network (3 p.m.). No Dodger will win, but it will be interesting to see where Turner, Bellinger and Seager end up on the ballot, and how many down-ballot votes Chris Taylor will reel in. The MVP ballot is 10 deep.