clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Double-A Tulsa 2017 opening day roster

Seattle Mariners v Los Angeles Dodgers
Yaisel Sierra will start 2017 where he ended 2016, with Double-A Tulsa.
Photo by Tim Warner/Getty Images

LOS ANGELES — The Dodgers’ Double-A affiliate, the Tulsa Drillers, announced their 2017 opening day roster on Tuesday.

After seeing several top prospects from last year graduate to Triple-A, as well as many pitchers, the Drillers have lost some star power. But they are led on offense by corner infielder Edwin Rios, the Dodgers’ sixth-round pick in 2015, and by outfielder Johan Mieses, who led all Dodgers minor leaguers with 28 home runs last year for Class-A Rancho Cucamonga.

New Cuban signee Jose Miguel Fernandez will start his U.S. pro career in Tulsa, whose offense will also include returnees Kyle Garlick, Jacob Scavuzzo and catcher Kyle Farmer, the latter who was added to the 40-man roster in November.

Yaisel Sierra, signed out of last February to a six-year, $30 million contract, is back in the Drillers’ bullpen, where he found some success in 2016 after struggling mightily as a starter with Class-A Rancho Cucamonga.

Fernandez, Sierra, Ralston Cash, Stetson Allie and Wynston Sawyer were all non-roster invitees in Dodgers big league camp this spring.

The Tulsa coaching staff returns intact, with manager Ryan Garko in his second season, joined by Leo Garcia, pitching coach Bill Simas, and hitting coach Terrmel Sledge.

The Drillers open their schedule on Thursday night at Midland, the start of a season-opening six-game road trip.

Tulsa 2017 opening day roster

Pos Player B/T 40-man? 2016 highest level
Pos Player B/T 40-man? 2016 highest level
RHP Isaac Anderson R/R No Double-A
RHP Scott Barlow R/R No Double-A
RHP Joe Broussard R/R No Triple-A
RHP Ralston Cash R/R No Triple-A
RHP Corey Copping R/R No High-A
LHP Colt Hynes L/L No Triple-A
LHP Michael Johnson L/L No Double-A
RHP Karch Kowalczyk R/R No High-A
LHP Edward Paredes L/L No Double-A
RHP Tim Shibuya R/R No Triple-A
RHP Yaisel Sierra R/R No Double-A
RHP Layne Somsen R/R No MLB
LHP Ivan Vieitez L/R No Low-A
C Kyle Farmer R/R Yes Triple-A
C Wynston Sawyer R/R No Double-A
C Paul Hoenecke L/R No Double-A
1B/3B Matt Beaty L/R No High-A
2B Jose Miguel Fernandez L/R No n/a
3B/1B Edwin Rios L/R No Double-A
IF Mike Ahmed R/R No High-A
IF TIm Locastro R/R No Double-A
OF Johan Mieses R/R No High-A
OF Kyle Garlick R/R No Double-A
OF Stetson Allie R/R No Double-A
OF Jacob Scavuzzo R/R No Double-A
DL Sean O'Connell R/R No Triple-A