clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

MLB announces 2017 postseason schedule

New, 16 comments
NLCS - Chicago Cubs v Los Angeles Dodgers - Game Four Photo by Sean M. Haffey/Getty Images

LOS ANGELES — Major League Baseball announced the dates for the 2017 postseason on Tuesday, including the World Series beginning on Tuesday, Oct. 24 at a site to be determined.

Home field advantage in the World Series is no longer tied to the All-Star Game result — the American League won in Miami on July 11 -- instead opening in the home stadium of the team with the best record. The Dodgers currently own the best record in baseball (79-32), eight games ahead of the Astros.

The wild card games are scheduled for Tuesday, Oct. 3 (American League, on ESPN) and Wednesday, Oct. 4 (National League, on TBS).

Both NL Division Series open on Friday, Oct. 6 — the ALDS both start one day earlier — and have the following schedule:

Game 1: Friday, Oct. 6, home
Game 2: Saturday, Oct. 7, home
Game 3: Monday, Oct. 9, away
Game 4*: Tuesday, Oct. 10, away
Game 5*: Thursday, Oct. 12, home
*if necessary

The National League Championship Series begins on Saturday, Oct. 14:

Game 1: Saturday, Oct. 14, home
Game 2: Sunday, Oct. 15, home
Game 3: Tuesday, Oct. 17, away
Game 4: Wednesday, Oct. 18, away
Game 5*: Thursday, Oct. 19, away
Game 6*: Saturday, Oct. 21, home
Game 7*: Sunday, Oct. 22, home
*if necessary

The entirety of the National League playoffs will be televised by TBS. Fox and Fox Sports 1 will televise the first two rounds in the American League, save for a pair of MLB Network games to be determined in the division series.

Should the World Series last the distance, Game 7 would be played on Wednesday, Nov. 1. Here is the schedule for the Fall Classic, which will be televised by Fox:

Game 1: Tuesday, Oct. 24, home
Game 2: Wednesday, Oct. 25, home
Game 3: Friday, Oct. 27, away
Game 4: Saturday, Oct. 28, away
Game 5*: Sunday, Oct. 29, away
Game 6*: Tuesday, Oct. 31, home
Game 7*: Wednesday, Nov. 1, home
*if necessary