clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

MLB Award season begins today

Gold Gloves will be handed out later today

MLB: Los Angeles Dodgers at Colorado Rockies Isaiah J. Downing-USA TODAY Sports

Major League Baseball not only thinks November is a time for family and a turkey dinner, it is also time to start handing out all of their awards for their just past regular season. The key thing to remember is that all of these awards had been voted on before the playoffs began so nothing that took place during the postseason was considered by the voters.

With that said, here is the schedule for when the winners of these awards will be announced:

Gold Gloves - Sunday Nov. 3rd - 4:00 p.m. PT (ESPN)

The finalists for these awards were announced on October 24th and outfielder Cody Bellinger is the one Dodger who made the final cut.

The last Dodger to win a Gold Glove was pitcher Zack Greinke in 2015, Greinke was a two-time winner, he also won in 2014. Andre Ethier and Matt Kemp were the last Dodger outfielders to win Gold Gloves, they were both winners in 2011.

BBWAA Finalists Announcement - Monday Nov. 4th - 3:00 p.m. PT (MLB Network)

The Baseball Writers’ Association of America will announce the three finalists for their annual awards on Monday.

These awards include Rookie of the Year, Manager of the Year, Cy Young Award and Most Valuable Player.

Wilson Defensive Players of the Year - Wednesday Nov. 6th - 3:00 p.m PT (MLB Network)

Unlike the Gold Gloves that are determined by votes from managers/coaching staffs, this award is determined by analysis and statistical computation.

Cody Bellinger is also a likely contender here as he was the Fielding Bible Award winner for both as a right-fielder and for multi-position defender.

Yasiel Puig was the last Dodger and last Dodger outfielder to be named to the Wilson Defensive Team as a right-fielder in 2017.

Silver Slugger Award - Thursday Nov. 7th - 3:00 p.m. PT (MLB Network)

Another award that voted on by the managers/coaching staffs is the Silver Slugger Award. This award has been given since 1980. It has been given to every defensive position, including pitcher for the National League and all eight defensive positions plus designated hitter for the American League.

Note that award for outfielders goes to the top three regardless of actual outfield position. So three left-fielders or two-right-fielders and a center-fielder could win the silver bat without one of the outfield positions represented.

Corey Seager was the last Dodger to win a Silver Slugger, he won as a shortstop in both 2016 and 2017.

Rookie of the Year - Monday Nov. 11th - 3:00 p.m. PT (MLB Network)

The first BBWAA award announcement starts this week and it is award very familiar to the Dodgers. The Dodger franchise has won 18 Rookie of the Year awards since it was first given to Jackie Robinson in 1947.

The last Dodger to be named Rookie of the Year was Cody Bellinger in 2017. Teammate Corey Seager was the 2016 Rookie of the Year.

Manager of the Year - Tuesday Nov. 12th - 3:00 p.m. PT (MLB Network)

This always one of those awards that is hard to quantify who should actually win it. Should it go to the manager who won when it wasn’t expected or to the manager who took a favorite and led them to winning season they were expected to have.

Dave Roberts won this award in 2016 in his inaugural managerial season and he joined Tommy Lasorda as the two Dodger managers to be given this honor.

Cy Young Award - Wednesday Nov. 13th - 3:00 p.m. PT (MLB Network)

Another award that the Dodger franchise has won the most since its introduction in 1956. The Dodgers franchise have had 12 Cy Young Award winners, the last one being Clayton Kershaw in 2014.

Most Valuable Player - Thursday Nov. 14th - 3:00 p.m. PT (MLB Network)

It has been 31 years since a Dodger position player was named Most Valuable Player. Kirk Gibson won it in 1988 and that was before he hit that home run.

We’ll know on Monday if Cody Bellinger is a finalist, he certainly has the credentials but he will have strong contenders like Christian Yelich and Anthony Rendon who could also take it this year.