clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Dodgers clinch NL West Division title for the 7th consecutive year

MLB: Los Angeles Dodgers at Baltimore Orioles
Corey Seager hit two home runs on the way to the 7-3 victory over the Orioles.
Evan Habeeb-USA TODAY Sports

They’ve done it again!

For the seventh year in a row, the Los Angeles Dodgers are National League West champions.

By wrapping up the division on September 10 in their 146th game of the season, the Dodgers shattered the team record for earliest clinching of the title by either measure. The 2013 Dodgers won their division on September 19 and in 1977 the Dodgers won the West in their 151st game.

Only two other franchises have won seven or more consecutive division titles. The Atlanta Braves won fourteen straight division titles from 1991-2005* and the New York Yankees strung together nine consecutive AL East championships from 1998-2006.

Congratulations Dodgers on a season well-played.

*In the strike year of 1994, no division title winners were declared when the season was canceled; Atlanta was not leading their division at that time. From 1991-1993 Atlanta won the NL West title, then from 1995-2005 they won the NL East title 11 straight seasons.