clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

MLB announces World Series umpires

A look at the seven umpires for the World Series

League Championship - Los Angeles Dodgers v Atlanta Braves - Game Five Photo by Ronald Martinez/Getty Images

On Monday, Major League Baseball announced the umpire crew for the 2020 World Series featuring the Los Angeles Dodgers and Tampa Bay Rays.

Bill Miller, a 22-year veteran, will be the primary crew chief. Miller’s crew includes regular season crew chief Jerry Meals, Mark Carlson, Laz Diaz, Chris Guccione, Marvin Hudson and Todd Tichenor. Meals will serve as the crew chief in Game 2 of the World Series.

Number of World Series appearances from crew members

Miller: 3

Diaz: 2

Carlson: 1

Guccione: 1

Hudson: 1

Meals: 1

Tichenor: 0

Each of the seven umpires assigned to the World Series could receive a plate assignment. Each umpire will be off the field during the game prior to their scheduled plate duties. The Replay Official during the World Series will be Major League Umpire Adrian Johnson, who will be assisted by Major League Umpire David Rackley.

You can check out the full schedule here: