clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Cody Bellinger and Mookie Betts are finalists for Gold Glove Award

They are the only two Dodgers who finished as finalists

World Series - Tampa Bay Rays v Los Angeles Dodgers - Game One Photo by Sean M. Haffey/Getty Images

On Thursday, Rawlings announced their finalists for the annual Gold Glove Awards. The Dodgers had two nominees, Cody Bellinger and Mookie Betts.

Should they both win, they’d become the second pair of outfielders to win a Gold Glove Award for the Dodgers in the same season, joining Matt Kemp and Andre Ethier who both won in 2011.

For Bellinger this would be his second Gold Glove Award in as many years. He won the award last year, but as a right fielder. This season he is a finalist as a center fielder. Bellinger played 39 games in center field in 2020, with one game coming in right field. He also spent 19 games at first base.

Meanwhile, this would be Betts’ fifth career Gold Glove Award should he win. He has won four years in a row, and I’m fairly certain he’s about to make it five. Betts spent nearly every inning in right field this season. He played center field for two innings, and also had that one game where he played second base. Remember that?

Here is the full list of outfielders who have won a Gold Glove Award for the Dodgers:

Wally Moon, 1960

Willie Davis, 1971, 1972, 1973

Dusty Baker, 1981

Raul Mondesi, 1995, 1997

Steve Finley, 2004

Matt Kemp, 2009, 2011

Andre Ethier, 2011

Cody Bellinger, 2019