clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

How the Dodgers did on the 2021 Hall of Fame ballot

Of the seven Dodgers on the ballot, Gary Sheffield had the most support

Los Angeles Dodgers vs. San Francisco Giants

The Baseball Hall of Fame did not elect any new members this year, with nobody getting the required 75 percent of the vote from the Baseball Writers Association of America.

Curt Schilling came the closest, earning 71.1 percent of the writers’ vote, appearing on 285 of 401 ballots in his ninth year on the ballot, 16 votes shy of election. Schilling will have one more year of eligibility on the BBWAA ballot.

There were seven former Dodgers on this year’s ballot. The two newcomers, Dan Haren and Shane Victorino, failed to receive a vote, falling shy of the five percent required to stay on the ballot for next year.

Of the five Dodgers returning to the ballot, Gary Sheffield received the most support, getting 40.6 percent of the vote, up from 30.5 percent last year, but with only two years remaining on the ballot his chances of getting elected by the BBWAA are quite thin. Same goes for Jeff Kent, who got 32.4 percent but only has one year left on the ballot.

Andruw Jones (33.9 percent) and Manny Ramirez (28.2 percent) have more time remaining on the ballot, but are far from getting elected. Bobby Abreu in his second year earned just barely enough (8.7 percent) to stay on the ballot.

Dodgers on the Hall of Fame ballot

Player Year on ballot 2021 2020 2019 2018 2017 2016 2015 2014
Player Year on ballot 2021 2020 2019 2018 2017 2016 2015 2014
Garry Sheffield 7th 40.6% 30.5% 13.6% 11.1% 13.3% 11.6% 11.7%
Andruw Jones 4th 33.9% 19.4% 7.5% 7.3%
Jeff Kent 8th 32.4% 27.5% 18.1% 14.5% 16.7% 16.6% 14.0% 15.2%
Manny Ramirez 5th 28.2% 28.2% 22.8% 22.0% 23.8%
Bobby Abreu 2nd 8.7% 5.5%
Source: Baseball-Reference

It’s going to be a while before the next former Dodger gets elected by the writers to the Hall of Fame, probably not until Adrian Beltre hits the ballot in 2024.

Though no players were elected this year, the 2020 class saw their induction postponed last year amid the COVID-19 pandemic. Induction this year will take place in Cooperstown on Sunday, July 25, with Derek Jeter, Larry Walker, Ted Simmons, and Marvin Miller getting inducted.