clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2021 minor-league schedules released

There will be a minor-league season!

As if Spring Training being officially here wasn’t exciting enough, Major League Baseball dropped the schedules for all the minor-league teams on Thursday morning.

Triple-A will kick off their season on April 6. Meanwhile, both Double-A and Single-A are going to kick off their season a month later on May 4. The AAA season will be 142 games, with both of the other leagues being 120 games. In 2021, teams will match up in six-game series exclusively that last from Tuesday through Sunday, with Monday being a league-wide off-day. However, AAA will have their off-days on Wednesday. As of right now, there are currently no playoffs scheduled this year throughout all of Minor League Baseball.

Oklahoma City Dodgers

The bulk of OKC’s games will be against teams in the East Division, including Albuquerque, El Paso, Round Rock and Triple-A newcomer Sugar Land. In addition to Salt Lake, the Dodgers will also receive visits from three other members of the West Division: Las Vegas, Reno and Sacramento.

Tulsa Drillers

The Drillers will kick off their season at home against the Sod Poodles. They will play all four other teams in the North Division (Arkansas Travelers, Northwest Arkansas Naturals, Springfield Cardinals, Wichita Wind Surge) both home and away, but will only play two teams from the South Division during the campaign. They will play home-and-away series with Amarillo and Midland, but they will not face Frisco, San Antonio or Corpus Christi at any point in the regular season.

The most common opponent for Tulsa will be Wichita, with 30 games scheduled against the new Wind Surge. The Drillers will meet both Northwest Arkansas and Springfield 24 times, and will face Arkansas 18 times.

Great Lakes Loons

The Loons are now the Dodgers’ High-A team in the High-A Central League. Their league will feature the Dayton Dragons, Fort Wayne TinCaps, Lake County Captains, Lansing Lugnuts, West Michigan Whitecaps, Beloit Snappers, Cedar Rapids Kernels, Peoria Chiefs, Quad Cities River Bandits, South Bend Cubs and the Wisconsin Timber Rattlers.

Rancho Cucamonga Quakes

Friendly reminder that the Quakes are now the low Single-A team for the Dodgers.

The Quakes will be one of eight teams (Inland Empire 66ers, Lake Elsinore Storm, Visalia Rawhide, Fresno Grizzlies, Modesto Nuts, San Jose Giants, Stockton Ports) in the newly-formed Low-A West League.