clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Class-A Rancho Cucamonga 2021 opening day roster

2020 draftees Jake Vogel and Gavin Stone get starts in their first professional game

Gavin Stone, drafted by the Dodgers in the fifth round in 2020, gets the opening day start for Low-A Rancho Cucamonga.
Photo: Central Arkansas Baseball

The Rancho Cucamonga Quakes released their opening day roster, which will begin play on Tuesday night on the road in San Bernardino against Inland Empire. The Quakes have been a Dodgers affiliate since 2011, and were a High-A team before moving to Low-A in MLB’s minor league reorganization this offseason.

Included on the roster are two draft picks from 2020 — outfielder Jake Vogel, the club’s third-round pick last year who starts in center field and bats leadoff in the opener, and fifth-rounder Gavin Stone, who starts on the mound for opening night.

The rest of the all-right handed Rancho Cucamonga starting rotation to start the season shakes out like this:

  • Robbie Peto, an undrafted free agent last year out of Stetson
  • Jimmy Lewis, second-round pick in 2019
  • Kendall Williams, acquired last September in the Ross Stripling trade
  • Carlos Duran, 2018 international signee from the Dominican Republic

The Quakes roster includes two players ranked among the Dodgers’ top 30 prospects before the season by Baseball America — shortstop Alex De Jesus (No. 18), Williams (No. 23), and Lewis (No. 26).

In addition to the pair of 2020 draftees, the Quakes roster also includes four Dodgers draftees from 2019 and three from 2018.

Rancho Cucamonga is a new locale for manager John Shomaker, who enters his 45th year in the Dodgers organization and has coached over 133 future major league players throughout his career. This is the 12th different city he’s managed in.

Low-A Rancho Cucamonga opening day roster

Pos Player 2021 age* Acquired
Pos Player 2021 age* Acquired
RHP Aldry Acosta 21 Int'l FA (2016)
RHP Jeisson Cabrera 22 Int'l FA (2017)
LHP Jacob Cantleberry 23 2019 draft (13th rd)
RHP Hyun-Il Choi 21 Int'l FA (2018)
RHP Daniel Cruz 23 Int'l FA (2017)
LHP Franklin De La Paz 22 Int'l FA (2017)
RHP Carlos De Los Santos 20 Int'l FA (2017)
RHP Carlos Duran 19 Int'l FA (2018)
RHP Braydon Fisher 20 2018 draft (4th rd)
RHP Cameron Gibbens 25 Int'l FA (2020)
LHP Jose Hernández 23 Int'l FA (2016)
RHP Jimmy Lewis 20 2019 draft (2nd rd)
RHP Robbie Peto 22 undrafted FA (2020)
RHP Adolfo Ramirez 22 Int'l FA (2016)
LHP Julian Smith 24 2018 draft (15th rd)
RHP Gavin Stone 22 2020 draft (5th rd)
RHP Kendall Williams 20 trade (TOR), 2020
C Wladimir Chalo 21 Int'l FA (2016)
C Marco Hernandez 23 Int'l FA (2015)
IF Alex De Jesus 19 Int'l FA (2018)
IF Sauryn Lao 21 Int'l FA (2015)
IF Eddys Leonard 20 Int'l FA (2017)
3B Brandon Lewis 22 2019 draft (4th rd)
IF Sam McWilliams 23 2018 draft (19th rd)
2B Jorbit Vivas 20 Int'l FA (2017)
OF Aldrich de Jongh 22 2018 draft (17th rd)
OF Jonny DeLuca 22 2019 draft (25th rd)
OF Edwin Mateo 22 Int'l FA (2016)
OF Jake Vogel 19 2020 draft (3rd rd)
OF Brandon Wulff 24 2019 draft (7th rd)