clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Dodgers magic number to clinch the National League West

The Dodgers have won the division again


The Dodgers won the National League West for the 10th time in 11 years. A close race at the All-Star break has turned into a runaway, with Los Angeles pulling away from the Diamondbacks and Giants.

Los Angeles clinched with a win in Seattle on Saturday, September 16. Here are the standings after that day:

NL West standings

Dodgers 90-57 (.612) ---
D-backs 78-72 (.520) 13½ GB
Giants 75-74 (.503) 15½ GB

The Dodgers already won the season series against Arizona, winning eight of their 13 matchups, including all five games in August to close out the season series. That gives LA the tiebreaker over the D-backs in the division. Even if the Dodgers were to lose all their remaining games and Arizona win’s out, the Dodgers would still win the division.

The Giants were eliminated earlier on September 16 with two losses in a doubleheader in Colorado.

This is the Dodgers’ second National League West title in a row and their 10th division crown in the last 11 seasons. The only year they didn’t win the division in this run was in 2021, when Los Angeles won 106 games. The Dodgers have the third longest postseason streak in major league history at 11 years in a row, behind only the Braves (14 seasons, 1991-2005) and Yankees (13 seasons, 1995-2007).