clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

All-Star Game

MLB All-Star Game voting 2017: Corey Seager continues to lead NL shortstops

87th MLB All-Star Game Photo by Sean M. Haffey/Getty Images

LOS ANGELES — Dodgers shortstop Corey Seager continues to lead all National League shortstops in All-Star voting at the position, in balloting results released by Major League Baseball on Monday.

We are still in the relative infancy of the All-Star voting process, with three more weekly updates still to be provided before final rosters and teams are announced. The 2017 All-Star Game will be held on Tuesday, July 11 at Marlins Park in Miami.

Seager has received 604,783 votes, narrowly ahead of Zack Cozart of the Reds (547,750) and Addison Russell of the Cubs (537,688). Seager widened his lead over last Tuesday, when he held a 19,707-vote lead over Russell.

Voting is done exclusively online through

The only other Dodgers in the top five in votes at their position are Justin Turner at third base (362,952 votes; third place, behind leader Kris Bryant at 895,752) and Yasmani Grandal at catcher (241,497 votes; fifth place, behind leader Buster Posey at 917,359).

Seager made the All-Star team as a rookie in 2016, though he did not start. The last Dodgers shortstop to start an All-Star Game was Bill Russell in 1980, the last time the midsummer classic was held at Dodger Stadium. There have only been four Dodgers to start at shortstop in an All-Star Game — Leo Durocher (1938), Pee Wee Reese (1948-49, 1953), Maury Wills (1961 twice, 1965), and Russell.