clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

All-Star Game

2018 All-Star profile: Dave Roberts

MLB: All Star Game-Workouts Brad Mills-USA TODAY Sports

Dave Roberts is in his third season as manager of the Dodgers, and is headed for his first major league All-Star Game, at the helm for the National League.

Selection process

Roberts knew of his All-Star status before any other Dodger, since the midsummer classic managers are determined by the previous season’s pennant winners.

Joining Roberts on the National League All-Star coaching staff are pitching coach Rick Honeycutt, hitting coach Turner Ward, first base coach George Lombard, third base coach Chris Woodward, assistant hitting coaches Brant Brown and Luis Ortiz, and bullpen coach Mark Prior.

Roberts also added fellow managers Bud Black and Dave Martinez to his staff for Tuesday.

All-Star history

Roberts was an All-Star three times as a minor league player, including hitting .326/.434/.466 with 21 steals for Double-A Jacksonville in the first half in 1998. He was traded from the Tigers to the Indians just days before the respective All-Star Games, moving leagues as well, to Double-A Akron.

“Eastern League All-Stars, but I did all my damage in the Southern League,” Roberts said.

Pre-break stats

The Dodgers are 53-43 in Roberts’ third season as manager, first place in the National League West. Roberts’ 248-172 (.590) record is the fourth-best in Dodgers franchise history, behind only Bill McGunnigle (.658), Chuck Dressen (.642), and Burt Shotton (.603).

Dodgers history

Roberts is the sixth Dodgers manager to manage an All-Star Game, joining Leo Durocher (1942, 1948), Burt Shotton (1950), Chuck Dressen (1953), Walt Alston (1954, 1956, 1957, 1960 x2, 1964, 1966, 1967, 1975), and Tommy Lasorda (1979, 1980, 1982, 1989).

Dodgers managers have also served as All-Star coaches eight times: Max Carey (1933), Casey Stengel (1934), Burt Shotton (1949), Walt Alston (1971), Tommy Lasorda (1977, 1983, 1984, 1986, 1993), Jim Tracy (2002), Joe Torre (2009) and Don Mattingly (2015).